I Met a Lady in the Meads

Out for a walk with Thundercloud, I was passing through the town’s forest conservation area, if that’s the right term for it – footpaths, small bridges, trees, stumps, grass, banks of primroses and daffodils, cherry blossom, toadstools and meandering burns. A popular place for birds, squirrels, dog walkers and Sunday strollers. Palely loitering in the middle of it all was a mother and her three-year-old.

They seemed to be waiting for me and Thundercloud, so I paused.

“Hello,” she said, trees rustling behind her, “do you know where Morrisons the supermarket is?”

Later on I had tea with N. (Thundercloud’s owner) and Mum, and told them about my encounter. After they finished laughing, Mum said “that reminds me of an old Irish joke. A tourist, lost in the middle of nowhere, asked an Irish man ‘please could you tell me the way to Dublin?’ The Irish man stopped to consider, scratching his head, and finally suggested, ‘well, if I were you, I wouldn’t start from here.'”

Edit Jan 2008: I’m unable to transfer my old comments across from Blogigo, but I liked this one from KateBlogs:

May 5, 2006 at 16:53:

What a strange encounter LOL.

Your Mum’s joke reminds of something that hapened to my Gran. Years ago, she was sitting in the park in Stratford on Avon, when a man came up and asked the way to Wales. No specific part, just Wales.

Leave a Reply

