Toothy Gaps in the TV Schedule

I’ve not seen The Angry Beavers for a while – where did they go? I liked them very much and didn’t get to see all the episodes. The two beaver brothers reminded me of my own family. I picked Norb for my sister E, the popular laid-back blonde who does everything wonderfully. Dag is me, the dark and jittery one who has grandiose plans but makes a mess of everything. They fight a lot but really miss each other if anything goes wrong.

Another thing they stopped showing here in the UK was Bernard and the Genie, starring Lenny Henry and Alan Cumming (my favourite Scottish actor). I don’t know why they stopped showing that – this film really made me smile. My favourite bit is when Bernard’s girlfriend dumps him at Christmas, and he’s left all alone in his apartment with his memories…

Then there’s Northern Exposure. Sure, it was showing on one of the digital channels (ITV2?) when I finally got hold of Freeview – but it wasn’t captioned. How frustrating. There are other good shows running that I can’t watch because they’re not captioned:

  • Andromeda
  • Due South
  • Jeeves and Wooster
  • Mapp and Lucia
  • Monkey
  • Poirot
  • Quantum Leap
  • Rumpole of the Bailey
  • Sherlock Holmes
  • The Cosby Mysteries
  • The Practice
  • The Water Margin

Edit Jan 2008: also Deep Space Nine on Virgin 1.

Thankfully The Avengers do have subtitles – bless you, BBC4.

I have just found something in the Wikipedia about a controversy surrounding The Angry Beavers. It adds that the series returned to Nicktoons TV on 20th June 2005. I only get Freeview so it seems I’m fresh out of luck and Angry Beavers. Nuts!

Leave a Reply

