All Righty!

On Tuesday afternoon I took a pill and some ear drops, and fell asleep on my bed for two hours! When I woke up I was disorientated and wondered “is it morning?”

No, but it was dull and raining… and when I looked in the mirror I had a mountain peak in my hair and looked exactly like Ace Ventura Pet Detective.

This is appropriate, as I am looking after various animals in the area – dogs, cats, and guinea pigs. Only today my sister sent an email asking if I could look after her cats for a weekend. She was waiting for a reply when I went to take my pill, only meaning to be away from the computer for 20 minutes, and that was when I fell asleep.

I went back to the computer and said “Alllllllll riiiightyyyyyy!” and sent her a picture of the pet detective flashing his card.
“Ha ha,” she said. “Never heard of him.”
I can’t believe that!

As well as Ace Ventura Pet Detective, Jim Carrey stars in The Mask; The Grinch Who Stole Christmas; The Cable Guy; I, Myself and Irene; Bruce Almighty; The Majestic; Liar Liar; Dumb and Dumber; The Truman Show; and some new one I’ve forgotten the name of – seems to involve a train and a strange old man…

The best is probably The Truman Show. It’s a take-off of Big Brother and similar reality shows, except that the star Truman has been born on set (a whole town) and doesn’t realize the rest of the world is watching his every move on TV. He’s not allowed to leave the town and when he tries, he is stopped. He begins to think that it’s odd that everybody seems to know him in the town, even when he doesn’t know them.

Jim Carrey ‘overacts’ and my mother and a friend say they don’t like him – or his type of humour, at any rate. I don’t even know why I like his films – nevertheless I do.

Leave a Reply

