Just Had the ‘Grue’

Was annoyed when I came down with the cold… I knew it was going to interrupt everything, and so it did. Blog, business in town, Christmas shopping, grocery shopping, housework, organizing stuff… everything!

A friend and I agreed there needs to be a word for something that’s halfway between a cold and a flu, as you want to make it clear to the office you’re not well enough to leave the house, even if you were well enough to get out of bed. If you say “I have a cold,” they think maybe you could have come in anyway, but if you say “I have flu,” scorn is poured on you for overestimating what is wrong with you. You can’t win!

I was reading that you can have ‘flu-like symptoms’ caused by whatever flu virus is going around, though it isn’t flu you’ve got… clear as mud! I suppose you could phone up and say “I have flu-like symptoms” but that sounds as though you’re not quite sure that you’ve got anything!

Perhaps we should make up a word of our own, seeing as the doctors don’t appear to have any suggestions. Coldenza? Grue?

Of course, there are probably things we do say, like “I have a bug, a virus, what’s going around.” If I thought of it in time, I’d go with ‘bug’. I usually don’t realize ‘there’s something going round’ till it nobbles me!

Have been mourning my weakest cells. Poor little things.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ms. Jolly Blogger
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 00:55:27

    Hope you are feeling better in no time!

    Reply

  2. Delilah
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 15:18:14

    Thank you. :-)

    Reply

  3. Geosomin
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 00:59:40

    I vote for coldenza :)
    Hope you’re on the mend!

    Reply

  4. Delilah
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 20:38:56

    Just got a cough now, thanks… it should be away soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

